Politics of Truth

 

 

Documentarism in the Art Field

 

 

Hito Steyerl

 

 

 

Documentary strategies are among the most important features of contemporary art. Since the early nineties there as been a succession of various waves of an adaptation of documentary techniques in art, which have also been integrated in the mainstream with documenta X and 11. Especially in the context of institution-critical practices, a revival of forms arose in the nineties, which were developed primarily in the seventies and based on practices such as research and journalistic techniques. At the same time, although there has so far been little theoretical treatment of it, a zone emerged of an overlapping of video art, cinema, reportage, photo essay and other forms, in which various existing genres and formats intersect and constantly change their stylistic devices in the form of audiovisual, film, video and installation works. Didactic and realistic works alternate with reflexive documentary productions, with visual machines, which reflect on the organization of documents and organize the subjectivities thus produced. An interest in the formal specific characteristics of the documentary form in the art field has only recently begun, for instance with exhibitions such as "True Stories" [1] at Witte de With in Rotterdam or "It is Hard to Touch the Real" [2] at the Kunstverein Munich – but has hardly taken place yet at the theoretical level.

Truth of Politics or Politics of Truth

Documentary forms in the art field are currently assuming primarily two contrary functions. First, they represent a strategy of authenticity, which is intended to ensure the claim of artistic works to contact with an auratized field of the social or the political. The formal devices employed here are often social-realistic and attempt to remain as transparent as possible. Examples are art documentations, in which performances or interventions are depicted and which illustrate certain effects in the social field. Here the documentary moment is used as proof of social relevance and evidence of an »organic« relationship to the field. In this perspective some forms of art documentation represent one of the currently most widespread strategies of authentication in the art field by cultivating the Rousseauan myth that there is an art actively embedded in local practices and communities, which is absolutely uncorrupted by any art market that first produces it through its demand. In their function of structuring and intervening in the social field, these documentary forms assume biopolitical tasks.

Authenticity becomes a vitalistic ideology here, which is chosen as the desired raw material of difference, particularly also in the context of globalization. It is nourished from the myth of the genuine and different local, which is currently reproduced in post-ethnographic and neo-culturalist exhibitions. [3] The documentary is intended to depict a certain truth of the political here, an authentic and "genuine" core of the social, which is reproduced, according to Marina Grzinic, in "flat documentaries". [4] Grzinic claims that the "flat documentary style" forms a model (which works according to the logic of cloning), with which given local situations can be fed into the global art field: through an ambivalent procedure that makes authenticity ripe for global serial production. This can be reproduced through reportage-like forms of recording, which transport quasi-sociological knowledge, or conversely through very personal, "intimist" forms. A striking example of the biopolitical aspect of the "flat documentary style" are the works by Santiago Serra, whose hyperrealistic and naturalistic displays of so-called concerned persons [5] represents a drastic form of misery-voyeuristic exhibitionism. The "flat documentary style" arises most of all from the decontextualization and draining of the authenticity-objects to be transferred, as a quasi biotechnical product. Here the myth of the authentic that forms the vistalistic fetish of documentary discourse proves to be a sophisticated, hybrid and artificial product of palatable difference and repetition.

In contrast to this, there is another, more reflected current of the documentary, which perceives its own devices as socially constructed epistemological tools. In these works there is no intention at all of depicting the authentic truth of the political, but rather of changing the "politics of truth" on which its representation is based. The visual and epistemological formations of the documentary themselves are thus defined as functions of the political. The term "politics of truth" [6] is originally from Michel Foucault and designates a social order of truth, which generates the acknowledged techniques and procedures for producing and determining this truth, and which is always linked to specific power relations. Power and knowledge interlock in the organization and production of facts and their interpretations. It is in this indissoluble tension between power and knowledge that the concept of the document also moves. This concept is derived from legal discourse and represents a technology of truth [7], in other words a recognized procedure for the production of truth. Other codified procedures of truth production include witness testimonials, the integration of historical documents, the talking head format, etc.

Thus the question posed to documentary works in the art field can in no way be limited to the appropriateness or accuracy of the respective representation, but must instead be directed to their internal politics of truth. Which politics of truth are articulated in documentary images and sounds? Which strategies of authenticity are applied to support their assertions? Which rhetorics of truth, sincerity, objectiveness or genuineness are articulated politically? How do documentary works refer to reality or truth? Which role do social agreements on the status and production of truth play in this? How is their interconnection with power relations and the production of subjectivities to be understood? Which technologies, practices and rhetorics of truth are developed in the process? What is their connection with institutions, political discourses, and social or biopolitical technologies? What impact do they therefore have on the intersections between power and subjectivity that Foucault called "Gouvernementalité" [8]? The concept of governmentality that Foucault developed defines a specific form of exercising power, which operates through the production of truth. [9] Documentary forms can also assume this function of governmentality through truth. [10] For documentary images are historically connected with technologies of control, surveillance, normalization and other police techniques. [11] Colonial or fascist regimes produced their own "documentalities", which were closely linked with ethnographic gaze regimes, the production of racist knowledge and military technologies. Photographs of colonial peoples circulating around the world contributed to the spread of colonial "knowledge", just as fascist "documentalities" endeavored to make Soviet prisoners of war, among others, appear "subhuman". [12]

This intersection between governmentality and documentary truth production can be termed "documentality". Documentality describes the permeation of a documentary politics of truth with superordinated political, social and epistemological formations. Documentality is the pivotal point where forms of documentary truth production turn into government - or vice versa. It describes complicity with dominant forms of a politics of truth, just as it can also describe a critical stance towards these forms.

A more recent work that problematizes this multiple political function of (in this case historical) documents is the installation "Searching for my mother's numbers" by Sanja Ivekovic, which was also shown at Documenta11. Three video projections flank an installation arranged like an archive, which is intended to be used for research on the prisoner's number of Ivekovic's mother in the concentration camp Auschwitz. In the video tapes the various functions of documents are investigated along with their different forms of writing and recording. Official documents like endlessly bureaucratic forms, on which a pension for the mother is denied by the responsible Yugoslavian agencies, are contrasted with another document, namely the mother's handwritten diary laconically recounting her arrest and liberation. The interview with contemporary witnesses that is otherwise conventional in this context is dispensed with entirely in this work. Instead the focus is on the documents in their material reality, which are (partially) read in a voice-over. On the one hand they function as instruments of repression and the non-acknowledgment of historical facts, as in the official correspondence. On the other hand, though, a document such as the mother's diary can also bear witness to a writing of history that not only "rescues" marginalized facts, but also forms a laconic counterpoint to the depiction of helpless and intimidated concentration camp victims. In this case, the document is not the basis of a historiography permeated by power, but instead becomes a monument to the "tradition of the oppressed", of which Walter Benjamin speaks in his theses on the concept of history.[13]

Another example of the problematization of the status of historical documents is the short video "Schwarz auf Weiß" (Black on White) by the artist group Klub Zwei. "Schwarz auf Weiß" concentrates on the question of the photographic document – specifically by means of a radical withdrawal of the images of the Shoah that are spoken of in the voice-over. While the supervisor of a photo archive raises questions on memory, image and history, all we see are written plaques on black and white. Despite their principle technical reproducibility, images change, according to the thesis. Grey tones disappear with every generation of the photographic print; what remains in the end are the hard contrasts of black and white. It is particularly by withdrawing the pictures that are spoken of, however, that a reflection is set off about what distinguishes their status as historical documents. It is not exclusively the face of the pictures of obliteration, which are often used purely symbolically, but rather the inconspicuous back with its stamps and remarks, which first gives the pictures their historical context and thus also their significance, as Klub Zwei argues. The use of pictures as icons, on the other hand, frequently leads to their use as mere illustrations of authenticity. In contrast, "Schwarz auf Weiß" insists on perceiving photographs as something we have given up "reading" (Walter Benjamin) [14]. The video is positioned within a debate that attempts to carry out a critical reading of pictures – yet without rejecting every representation altogether as a purely social or media construction containing no truth. Unlike many media-critical approaches of recent years, this reflection therefore does not lead to an endless, circular and narcissist self-reflexivity, but rather to an ethical-political stance.

For the reflexive documentary forms there is also always the danger of generating a kind of idling reflexivity, which cringes before the ethical dimension of the themes treated in favor of the comfort of unresolvable ambivalence and the task of claiming any kind of truth. This tendency is articulated for instance in a meanwhile almost ornamental form of apparatus criticism, as it is evident in the reflexive integration of satellite images, surveillance pictures, flow charts and network surfaces in documentary works. Amateur material that is often realistic and sensationalist is garnished with elements of self-reflexivity here, which have themselves congealed into cliched and affirmative phrases of global mediality. These forms additionally develop interesting affinities with more recent television formats such as "Big Brother" and other Reality-TV shows, in which it is specifically the aspect of the constantly concurrent self-reflexivity of the media that conversely achieves the greatest authenticity effect. [15] The result is an exponential realism that only differs from classic strategies of realistic authenticity by degrees. This form of idling reflexivity is anticipated by the documentary film theorist Bill Nichols: Although it may contain a political position at the content level – it has none for the viewers themselves, who are held in a zone of inescapable ambivalence. [16]

With the import of documentary forms into the art field, new versions of the classical problems of the documentary appeared there too – the linking of documentary forms with political and social power relations and with the major power/knowledge complexes of law, science and journalism. Yet the gaze regimes of the documentary, their connection with forms of control, objectivization and categorization are also imported into the space of art. One of the new aspects of documentary approaches in art space is its spatialization in installation form, which also generates new forms of the "attention economy", according to Tom Holert, as well as new diagrams of visibility. This goes hand in hand with a change in the arrangements of the gaze from central-perspective perception situations to spatially heterogeneous arrangements working with various media and forms of presentation. This in turn affects the relationship of the duration and space of the documentary ensemble. What is articulated in the classical documentary film as duration and thus as intensity in its perception, is now articulated conceptually in many documentary installations and thus formulated as an idea, for which the documentary picture material in part only supplies the illustration or the proof. Many documentary installations thus function less through the articulation, organization and intensification of duration, but rather through a synecdochic compression of a situation in space, which can be captured to a certain extent in a memorable image (of a plot). In the new documentary conceptualism the documentary image thus functions as a technology of truth and as proof for a proposed hypothesis as well.

In between biopolitical realism and idling reflexivity, between documentary conceptualism and a precise reading of gazes and images and the ethical-political negotiation of their claims to truth, there are the most diverse documentary approaches, which are not only articulated through various documentalities, but also represent various forms of a politics of truth. Thus it is particularly the questions of truth, ethics and reality that have been increasingly banned from theory in the last twenty years, but which are now raised in a new form due to the emergence of documentary works in art space.

 

 

   

Translation: Aileen Derieg

 

1 True Stories; Jean-Pierre Rehm, True Stories, 24 January to 30 March 2003. Flyer, Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art, Rotterdam, 2003
2 Soren Grammel: Es ist schwer das Reale zu berühren. Printed material, Kunstverein München, Spring 2002, p. 44-45
3 See for instance: Boris Buden: Da bumst der Wahnsinnige den Verwirrten, in: springerin 2/2003
4 Marina Grzinic: Global Culture, Biotechnology, Imperialism. Unpublished manuscript 2003
5 For example in "Hiring and Arrangement of 30 Workers in Relation to their Skin Color": "He positions 30 people of different ethnic origin according to the color of their skin along the front of the completely closed exhibition space. [&] Sierra often employs radical means: by making workers execute certain things in museums and galleries, he turns them into exhibits. Transferring them into the system of art and explicitly presenting them, he utilizes the methods employed in the sphere of economy. This is why he often provokes protests with his projects, as for example when he paid people for agreeing to being tattooed a black line on their backs. He has also highlighted the ambivalent situation of political refugees in Europe who are forbidden to earn any money by paying them to crawl under cardboard boxes and hide there for several hours. Part of the provocation is certainly based on the obvious absurdity of the assignments and their unproductive character." (Announcement text Kunsthalle Wien, September 2002)
6 Pasquale Pasquino, Allessandro Fontana: Wahrheit und Macht«. Gespräch mit Michel Foucault vom Juni 1976, in: Michel Foucault: Dispositive der Macht. Berlin 1978, p. 51
7 Michel Foucault: Technologien der Wahrheit, in: Jan Engelmann (Ed.): Foucault Botschaften der Macht. Reader Diskurs und Medien. Stuttgart 1999, p. 133-144
8 Media forms as forms of gouvernementalité are also described by Toby Miller: Technologies of Truth. Cultural Citizenship and the Popular Media. Minneapolis 1998, p. 14-18
9 Thomas Lemke: Eine Kritik der politischen Vernunft. Hamburg1997, p. 32.
10 On these terms, see also Lemke 1997, p. 31
11 Martha Rosler: Drinnen, Drumherum und nachträgliche Gedanken (zur Dokumentarfotographie), in: Martha Rosler: Positionen in der Lebenswelt. Wien, Generali Foundation 1999, p. 105. Cf. also James R. Ryan: Picturing Empire. London 1997
12 See for example the exhibition "Beutestücke Kriegsgefangene in der deutschen und sowjetischen Fotografie 1941-1945" at the German-Russian Museum Berlin-Karlshorst, 14 June to 14 September 2003
13 Walter Benjamin: Geschichtsphilosophische Thesen. Zur Kritik der Gewalt und andere Aufsätze. Frankfurt 1978, p. 84
14 Walter Benjamin: Das Kunstwerk im Zeitalter seiner technischen Reproduzierbarkeit. Frankfurt/Main 1966, p. 64
15 Cf. also "Das Authentische ist Produkt einer Laborsituation". Judith Keilbach in Conversation with Wolfgang Beilenhoff and Rainer Vowe, in: nach dem Film, 12/00,
http://www.nachdemfilm.de/no2/bei01dts.html
16 Bill Nichols: Representing Reality. Bloomington/Indianapolis 1997

 

^

Politik der Wahrheit

 

 

Dokumentarismen im Kunstfeld

 

 

Hito Steyerl

 

 

 

Dokumentarische Strategien gehören zu den wichtigsten Kennzeichen der Gegenwartskunst. Seit Beginn der neunziger Jahre folgen aufeinander verschiedene Wellen der Adaption dokumentarischer Techniken im Kunstbetrieb, die mit den Documentas X und 11 auch in den Mainstream integriert wurden. Vor allem im Kontext institutionskritischer Praxen kam es in den Neunzigern zu einem Revival von Formen, die vor allem in den siebziger Jahren entwickelt worden waren und auf Praktiken wie Recherche und journalistischen Techniken beruhten. Dabei entstand eine bislang theoretisch wenig bearbeitete Zone der Überlappung von Videokunst, Kino, Reportage, Fotoessay und anderen Formen, in denen sich verschiedene existierende Genres und Formate in Form audiovisueller Film-, Video- und Installationsarbeiten überschneiden und deren Stilmittel sich fortwährend verändern. Didaktische und realistische Arbeiten wechseln sich mit reflexiveren dokumentarischen Produktionen ab, mit visuellen Maschinen, welche die Organisation von Dokumenten und die dadurch produzierten Subjektivitäten reflektieren und organisieren. Die Beschäftigung mit den formalen Spezifika der dokumentarischen Form im Kunstbereich hat etwa mit Ausstellungen wie »True Stories« [1] im Rotterdamer Witte de With oder »Es ist schwer das Reale zu berühren« [2] im Kunstverein München erst vor kurzem begonnen – und findet auf theoretischer Ebene noch kaum statt.


Wahrheit der Politik und Politik der Wahrheit

Dokumentarische Formen im Kunstbereich übernehmen gegenwärtig vor allem zwei gegenläufige Funktionen. Erstens stellen sie eine Authentizitätsstrategie dar, die den Anspruch künstlerischer Arbeiten auf Kontakt mit einem auratisierten Feld des Sozialen bzw. Politischen gewährleisten soll. Die formalen Mittel, die hier eingesetzt werden, sind oft sozialrealistisch und versuchen möglichst transparent zu bleiben. Beispiele sind etwa Kunstdokumentationen, in denen Performances oder Interventionen abgebildet werden und die bestimmte Effekte im sozialen Feld veranschaulichen. Hier wird das dokumentarische Moment als Beweismittel sozialer Relevanz und als Beleg eines »organischen« Verhältnisses zum sozialen Feld eingesetzt. In dieser Perspektive stellen einige Formen von Kunstdokumentation eine der derzeit am weitesten verbreiteten Authentisierungsstrategien im Kunstfeld dar, indem sie den rousseauistischen Mythos nähren, es gäbe eine in lokalen Praxen und Communities aktiv eingebettete Kunst, die absolut unkorrumpiert von jenem Kunstmarkt sei, der sie durch seine Nachfrage erst hervorbringt. In ihrer Funktion als Strukturierung und Eingriff in das soziale Feld übernehmen diese Dokumentarformen biopolitische Aufgaben.

Authentizität wird dabei zur vitalistischen Ideologie, die gerade auch im Kontext von Globalisierung zum begehrten Rohstoff der Differenz erkoren wird und vom Mythos jenes echten und differenten Lokalen zehrt, der gegenwärtig in postethnografischen und neokulturalistischen Ausstellungen reproduziert wird. [3] Hier soll das Dokumentarische eine bestimmte Wahrheit des Politischen abbilden, einen authentischen und »echten« Kern des Sozialen, der, so Marina Grzinic, in »flat documentaries« reproduziert werde. [4] Der »flat documentary style« bildet laut Grzinic eine (gemäß der Logik des Klonens funktionierende) Vorlage, mit der gegebene lokale Situationen in den globalen Kunstbetrieb eingespeist werden können: durch ein ambivalentes Verfahren, das Authentizität zur globalen Serienreife bringt. Diese kann durch reportagehafte Formen der Aufzeichnung reproduziert werden, die quasi-soziologisches Wissen transportieren oder umgekehrt durch sehr persönliche, »intimistische« Formen. Ein markantes Beispiel für den biopolitischen Aspekt des »flat documentary style« sind die Arbeiten von Santiago Serra, dessen hyperrealistische und naturalistische Zurschaustellung so genannter Betroffener [5] eine drastische Form von elendsvoyeuristischem Exhibitionismus darstellt. Der »flat documentary style« entsteht vor allem durch die Entkontextualisierung und Entleerung der zu transferierenden Authentizitäts-Objekte, als quasi-biotechnologisches Produkt. Hier erweist sich jener Mythos des Authentischen, der den vitalistischen Fetisch dokumentarischer Diskurse bildet, als ausgeklügeltes, hybrides und artifizielles Produkt aus genießbarer Differenz und Wiederholung.

Dem entgegen steht eine andere, reflektiertere Strömung des Dokumentarischen, die ihre eigenen Mittel als sozial konstruierte epistemologische Werkzeuge wahrnimmt. In diesen Arbeiten soll mitnichten die authentische Wahrheit des Politischen abgebildet, sondern umgekehrt die »Politik der Wahrheit« verändert werden, die ihrer Darstellung zugrunde liegt. Die visuellen und epistemologischen Formationen des Dokumentarischen werden somit selbst als Funktionen des Politischen bestimmt. Der Begriff der »Politik der Wahrheit« [6] stammt von Michel Foucault und bezeichnet eine gesellschaftliche Ordnung der Wahrheit, die anerkannte Techniken und Verfahren zur Produktion und Feststellung dieser Wahrheit hervorbringt und immer auch mit spezifischen Machtverhältnissen verknüpft ist. Macht und Wissen verschränken sich in der Organisation und Produktion von Fakten und deren Interpretation. In dieser unauflöslichen Spannung zwischen Macht und Wissen bewegt sich auch der Begriff des Dokuments, der aus dem juristischen Diskurs stammt und eine Technologie der Wahrheit [7], das heißt ein anerkanntes Verfahren der Wahrheitsproduktion darstellt. Andere kodifizierte Verfahren der Wahrheitsproduktion sind etwa die Zeugenaussage, die Integration historischer Dokumente, das Talking-Head-Format usw.

Die Frage an dokumentarische Arbeiten im Kunstfeld kann sich also keineswegs auf die Angemessenheit oder Akkuratheit der jeweiligen Darstellung beschränken, sondern muss auf ihre interne Politik der Wahrheit zielen. Welche Politik der Wahrheit artikuliert sich in dokumentarischen Bildern und Tönen? Welche Authentizitätsstrategien wenden sie an, um ihre Behauptungen zu stützen? Welche Rhetoriken der Wahrheit, Aufrichtigkeit, Objektivität oder Echtheit werden auf politische Weise artikuliert? In welcher Weise beziehen sich dokumentarische Arbeiten auf Wirklichkeit oder Wahrheit? Welche Rolle spielen dabei gesellschaftliche Übereinkünfte über den Status und die Produktion von Wahrheit? Wie ist deren Verschaltung mit Machtverhältnissen und der Produktion von Subjektivitäten zu verstehen? Welche Technologien, Praxen und Rhetoriken der Wahrheit werden dabei entwickelt? In welcher Verbindung stehen sie mit Institutionen, politischen Diskursen und sozialen oder biopolitischen Technologien? Inwiefern wirken sie also auf jener Schnittstelle zwischen Macht und Subjektivität, die Foucault als »Gouvernementalité« [8] bezeichnet hat? Der von Foucault entwickelte Begriff der Gouvernementalité, zu deutsch »Regierung«, bestimmt eine spezifische Form der Machtausübung, die über die Produktion von Wahrheit operiere. [9] Auch dokumentarische Formen können diese Funktion der Regierung durch Wahrheit übernehmen. [10] Denn dokumentarische Bilder stehen mit Technologien der Kontrolle, Überwachung, Normalisierung und anderen polizeilichen Techniken in historischem Zusammenhang. [11] Koloniale oder faschistische Regimes brachten ihre eigenen »Dokumentalitäten« hervor, die eng mit ethnografischen Blickregimes, der Produktion rassistischen Wissens und militärischen Technologien verbunden waren. Weltweit zirkulierende Fotografien von Kolonialvölkern trugen zur Verbreitung von kolonialem »Wissen« bei, ebenso wie faschistische »Dokumentalitäten« bemüht waren, unter anderem sowjetische Kriegsgefangene als »Untermenschen« erscheinen zu lassen.[12]

Diese Schnittstelle zwischen Gouvernementalité und dokumentarischer Wahrheitsproduktion kann als »Dokumentalität« bezeichnet werden. Dokumentalität beschreibt die Durchdringung einer dokumentarischen Wahrheitspolitik mit übergeordneten politischen, sozialen und epistemologischen Formationen. Dokumentalität ist der Umschlagpunkt, an dem Formen dokumentarischer Wahrheitsproduktion in Regierung umschlagen – oder umgekehrt. Sie beschreibt die Komplizität mit herrschenden Formen einer Politik der Wahrheit ebenso wie sie eine kritische Haltung gegenüber diesen Formen beschreiben kann.

Eine neuere Arbeit, die diese mehrfache politische Funktion von (in diesem Fall historischen) Dokumenten problematisiert, ist die Installation »Searching for my mother`s number« von Sanja Ivekovic, die auch auf der Documenta11 zu sehen war. Drei Videoprojektionen flankieren eine archivartig angelegte Installation, mit der eine Recherche nach der Häftlingsnummer von Ivekovics Mutter im KZ Auschwitz betrieben werden soll. In den Videobändern werden die verschiedenen Funktionen von Dokumenten mitsamt ihren unterschiedlichen Schrift- und Aufzeichnungsformen untersucht. Offizielle Dokumente wie endlose bürokratische Formulare, auf denen eine Rente für die Mutter durch die zuständigen jugoslawischen Stellen abgelehnt wird, werden mit einem anderen Dokument kontrastiert, nämlich dem handschriftlichen Tagebuch der Mutter, das in überaus lakonischer Form von ihrer Inhaftierung und Befreiung berichtet. In dieser Arbeit wird völlig auf das in diesem Kontext sonst übliche Interview mit Zeitzeugen verzichtet. Stattdessen werden die Dokumente in ihrer materiellen Realität in den Mittelpunkt gesetzt und (teilweise) von einer Off-Stimme verlesen. Auf der einen Seite funktionieren sie als Instrumente der Repression und der Nichtanerkennung der historischen Fakten wie im behördlichen Schriftverkehr. Auf der anderen Seite kann ein Dokument wie das Tagebuch der Mutter aber auch Zeugnis einer Geschichtsschreibung sein, die nicht nur die marginalisierten Fakten »errettet«, sondern auch einen lakonischen Gegenpol zur Darstellung hilf- und mutloser KZ–Opfer bildet. In diesem Fall ist das Dokument nicht Basis einer von Macht durchdrungenen Geschichtsschreibung, sondern wird im Gegenteil zum Monument jener »Tradition der Unterdrückten«, von der Walter Benjamin in seinen Thesen über den Begriff der Geschichte spricht. [13]

Ein anderes Beispiel für die Problematisierung des Status historischer Dokumente ist das kurze Video »Schwarz auf Weiß« der Künstlerinnengruppe Klub Zwei. »Schwarz auf Weiß« konzentriert sich auf die Frage des fotografischen Dokuments – und zwar mittels eines radikalen Entzugs jener Bilder der Shoah, von denen im Off die Rede ist. Während die Leiterin eines Fotoarchivs Fragen zu Gedächtnis, Bild und Geschichte aufwirft, sehen wir nur Texttafeln auf Schwarz und Weiß. Trotz ihrer prinzipiellen technischen Reproduzierbarkeit ändern sich Bilder, so die These. Mit jeder Generation des fotografischen Abzugs verschwinden Grautöne – was letztlich bleibt, sind die harten Kontraste von Schwarz und Weiß. Gerade durch den Entzug der Bilder, von denen die Rede ist, wird jedoch die Reflexion über das, was ihren Status als historische Dokumente ausmacht, in Gang gesetzt. Es sei nicht ausschließlich die Vorderseite der Bilder der Vernichtung, die oftmals rein symbolisch eingesetzt werde, sondern die unscheinbare Rückseite mit ihren Stempeln und Vermerken, die Bildern erst ihren historischen Kontext verschaffe und somit auch ihre Bedeutung, argumentiert Klub Zwei. Die Verwendung von Bildern als Ikonen führe hingegen oft genug dazu, sie als bloße Illustrationen von Authentizität zu verwenden. »Schwarz auf Weiß« insistiert demgegenüber darauf, Fotografien als etwas, was zu »lesen« aufgegeben sei (Walter Benjamin) [14], wahrzunehmen. Das Video positioniert sich innerhalb einer Debatte, die versucht, eine kritische Lektüre von Bildern zu betreiben – ohne jedoch jegliche Repräsentation in Bausch und Bogen als reine soziale bzw. mediale Konstruktion ohne Wahrheitsgehalt zu verwerfen. Anders als in vielen medienkritischen Ansätzen der letzten Jahre führt diese Reflexion daher keineswegs zu endloser, zirkulärer und narzisstischer Selbstreflexivität, sondern zu einer ethisch-politischen Haltung.

Für die reflexiven dokumentarischen Formen besteht nämlich immer auch die Gefahr, eine Art leerlaufender Reflexivität zu generieren, die vor der ethischen Dimension der verhandelten Thematiken zugunsten der Bequemlichkeit unauflöslicher Ambivalenz und der Aufgabe jeglichen Wahrheitsanspruchs zurückschreckt. Diese Tendenz artikuliert sich etwa in einer mittlerweile geradezu ornamentalen Form von Apparatuskritik, wie sie sich im reflexhaften Integrieren von Satellitenbildern, Überwachungsbildern, Flowcharts und Netzoberflächen in dokumentarischen Arbeiten offenbart. Hier wird oftmals realistisches und sensationalistisches Amateurmaterial mit Elementen von Selbstreflexivität garniert, die selbst zu klischeehaften und affirmativen Floskeln globaler Medialität geronnen sind. Diese Formen entwickeln überdies interessante Anklänge an neuere Fernsehformate wie »Big Brother« und anderen Reality-TV-Shows, in denen es eben der Aspekt ständig mitlaufender Selbstreflexivität des Medialen ist, der umgekehrt den größten Authentizitätseffekt erzielt. [15] Das Ergebnis ist ein potenzierter Realismus, der sich nur graduell von klassisch realistischen Authentizitätsstrategien unterscheidet. Diese Form leerlaufender Reflexivität wird vom Dokumentarfilmtheoretiker Bill Nichols antizipiert: Sie enthalte zwar möglicherweise eine politische Position auf der Ebene des Inhalts – jedoch keine für die BetrachterInnen selbst, die in einer Zone auswegloser Ambivalenz festgehalten werden. [16]

Mit dem Import dokumentarischer Formen in den Kunstbereich werden auch dort die klassischen Probleme des Dokumentarischen neu aufgelegt – die Verknüpfung dokumentarischer Formen mit politischen und sozialen Machtverhältnissen sowie mit den großen Macht/Wissenskomplexen von Recht, Wissenschaft und Journalismus. Aber auch die Blickregime des Dokumentarischen, ihre Verknüpfung mit Formen der Kontrolle, Objektivierung und Kategorisierung werden in den Kunstraum importiert. Einer der neuen Aspekte dokumentarischer Ansätze im Kunstraum ist ihre Verräumlichung in Installationsform, die, so Tom Holert, auch neue Formen der »Aufmerksamkeitsökonomie« erzeuge ebenso wie neue Diagramme der Sichtbarkeit. Damit einher geht auch die Veränderung der Anordnungen des Blicks von zentralperspektivischen Wahrnehmungssituationen hin zu räumlich heterogenen, mit verschiedenen Medien und Präsentationsformen arbeitenden Arrangements, die ihrerseits wiederum Auswirkungen auf das Verhältnis von Dauer und Raum des dokumentarischen Ensembles haben. Was im klassischen Dokumentarfilm als Dauer artikuliert ist und somit als Intensität in der Wahrnehmung, wird in vielen dokumentarischen Installationen nunmehr konzeptuell artikuliert und somit als Idee formuliert, zu der das dokumentarische Bildmaterial teils nur die Illustration bzw. den Beweis bereitstellt. Viele Dokumentarinstallationen funktionieren somit weniger durch die Artikulation, Gliederung und Intensivierung von Dauer, sondern vielmehr durch eine synekdochische Verdichtung einer Situation im Raum, die gewissermaßen in ein einprägsames Bild (einer Handlung) gebannt werden kann. Auch im neuen dokumentarischen Konzeptualismus funktioniert das dokumentarische Bild somit als Wahrheitstechnologie und als Beweis für eine aufgestellte These.

Zwischen biopolitischem Realismus und leerlaufender Reflexivität, zwischen dokumentarischem Konzeptualismus und einer genauen Lektüre von Blicken und Bildern und der ethisch-politischen Verhandlung ihrer Wahrheitsansprüche existieren also die verschiedensten dokumentarischen Ansätze, die sich nicht nur durch verschiedene Dokumentalitäten artikulieren, sondern auch verschiedene Formen von Wahrheitspolitik darstellen. Somit sind es gerade die Fragen nach Wahrheit, Ethik und Realität, die zunehmend aus der Theorie der letzten 20 Jahre verbannt wurden, die sich nun durch das Auftauchen dokumentarischer Arbeiten im Kunstraum in neuer Form stellen.


 

 

   

 

1 True Stories; Jean-Pierre Rehm, True Stories, 24. Jänner bis 30. März 2003. Flyer, Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art, Rotterdam, 2003
2 Soren Grammel: Es ist schwer das Reale zu berühren. Drucksache, Kunstverein München, Frühjahr 2002, S. 44-45
3 Siehe etwa Boris Buden: Da bumst der Wahnsinnige den Verwirrten, in: springerin 2/2003
4 Marina Grzinic: Global Culture, Biotechnology, Imperialism. Unveröffentlichtes Manuskript 2003
5 So zum Beispiel in »Hiring and Arrangement of 30 Workers in Relation to their Skin Color«: »He positions 30 people of different ethnic origin according to the color of their skin along the front of the completely closed exhibition space. […] Sierra often employs radical means: by making workers execute certain things in museums and galleries, he turns them into exhibits. Transferring them into the system of art and explicitly presenting them, he utilizes the methods employed in the sphere of economy. This is why he often provokes protests with his projects, as for example when he paid people for agreeing to being tattooed a black line on their backs. He has also highlighted the ambivalent situation of political refugees in Europe who are forbidden to earn any money by paying them to crawl under cardboard boxes and hide there for several hours. Part of the provocation is certainly based on the obvious absurdity of the assignments and their unproductive character.« (Ankündigungstext Kunsthalle Wien, September 2002)
6 Pasquale Pasquino, Allessandro Fontana: Wahrheit und Macht«. Gespräch mit Michel Foucault vom Juni 1976, in: Michel Foucault: Dispositive der Macht. Berlin 1978, S. 51
7 Michel Foucault: Technologien der Wahrheit, in: Jan Engelmann (Hg.): Foucault – Botschaften der Macht. Reader Diskurs und Medien. Stuttgart 1999, S. 133-144
8 Mediale Formen als Formen der Gouvernementalité werden auch beschrieben von Toby Miller: Technologies of Truth. Cultural Citizenship and the Popular Media. Minneapolis 1998, S. 14-18
9 Thomas Lemke: Eine Kritik der politischen Vernunft. Hamburg1997, S. 32.
10 Zu diesen Begriffen vgl. auch Lemke 1997, S. 31
11 Martha Rosler: Drinnen, Drumherum und nachträgliche Gedanken (zur Dokumentarfotographie), in: Martha Rosler: Positionen in der Lebenswelt. Wien, Generali Foundation 1999, S. 105. vgl. auch James R. Ryan: Picturing Empire. London 1997
12 Siehe etwa die Ausstellung »Beutestücke – Kriegsgefangene in der deutschen und sowjetischen Fotografie 1941-1945« im Deutsch-Russischen Museum Berlin-Karlshorst, 14. Juni bis14. September 2003
13 Walter Benjamin: Geschichtsphilosophische Thesen. Zur Kritik der Gewalt und andere Aufsätze. Frankfurt 1978, S. 84
14 Walter Benjamin: Das Kunstwerk im Zeitalter seiner technischen Reproduzierbarkeit. Frankfurt/Main 1966, S. 64
15 Vgl. dazu »Das Authentische ist Produkt einer Laborsituation«. Judith Keilbach im Gespräch mit Wolfgang Beilenhoff und Rainer Vowe, in: nach dem Film, 12/00,
http://www.nachdemfilm.de/no2/bei01dts.html
16 Bill Nichols: Representing Reality. Bloomington/Indianapolis 1997

 

^